Oh Hai! A Blog!

12May12

I need to update.

I know!

I know!

I knoooooow!

And I will!  Pinky swear!

I have lots to talk about!

(More exclamation marks!!!!)

(!!!)

So anyway.

I have planted a garden!  And things are actually starting to grow.  This really surprised me.

So far I’ve got 6 tomatoes growing and a fajita bell pepper. (A fajita bell pepper is apparently a bell pepper that has a slight amount of spice to it….say, like, for fajitas!)  I’ve got a few other little tiny things on some other bell pepper plants that may or may not turn into anything, so I’m not going to count them for now, or I’ll just be disappointed when they dry up and fall off.

Cucumbers and beans and banana peppers and jalapenos are also planted and I’m waiting on pins and needles for them to sprout something.

My zucchini didn’t make it.

*sniff*

But my garlic has sprouted up in a shockingly short amount of time.  I planted it and then nothing…..and nothing….and more nothing….and then…nope….still nothing….

And then we got a pretty heavy rain and the next day…

BAM!

(all Emeril-style)

All my little garlics were sprouted!

I’m a little bit stupid excited about my garden and I’ll tell you why.  And it’s for reasons other than I’m just really excited about cooking with things that I’ve actually grown with my own two little hands.  One day….ONE DAY…after I planted my garden, a deer came along and ate everything.

EV – REE – THING!!!

Except my one jalapeno plant (which Lee had already broken half of it off, so yeah.  That.).

My poor little basil still hasn’t quite made a grand comeback and one bell pepper plant is just not happening, but everything else has come back like a champ!  We got this fertilizer stuff that deer apparently HATE and we haven’t seen one in our yard since.  Which is good, because I was planning on setting up a deer sting operation, and these days I just can’t seem to stay up past 11, so I’m not sure how well that would have gone.  I probably just would have ended up sleeping on the deck with the bugs.  Ew.

So there’s that.

And there’s other stuff too!!

Really, really great stuff!

SEEKRIT STUFFS!!

Which I will tell you all about soon!

And I’m making meatloaf tonight, so I may take pictures of that and write about it if it comes out as good as I think it will.

Y’all….It’s wrapped in bacon.

BACON…

Correct me if I’m wrong, but there is just nothing better than bacon.

I’m hungry just thinking about it.

Maybe I should go get a start on that!

Mmmmm…..baaaaaacooooooonnnnnnn…..

*drool*

No Responses Yet to “Oh Hai! A Blog!”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

