The Last Garlic Bread Recipe You’ll Ever Need

06Mar12

I used to *gulp* make nothing but frozen garlic bread.

And I loved it.

There.  I said it.

Whew.  I feel better.

I’m not sure why I started experimenting with making my own garlic bread, but boy am I ever glad I did.  Don’t get me wrong.  I won’t judge you for making the frozen stuff.  I thought it was the be-all end-all of garlic bread at one time!  But be forewarned…if you make this garlic bread, even once!  You’ll never be able to go back.  Okay.  You can go back.  But it won’t taste as good as it did before you had the fresh stuff. To me, the frozen garlic bread just tastes like freezer.  Sorry, Mom.

So!  With no more time to waste!  Hold on to your britches, here we go!

Here’s what you’ll need…

 A loaf of French or Italian bread (or any kind of crusty loaf you find in the bakery that tickles your fancy!  We’re all about tickling fancies here), somewhere between a half and a whole stick of softened butter (salted, unsalted, doesn’t matter here), 2-4 cloves of fresh garlic (depending on how garlicky you like it, I always go with 4), basil (you can use fresh, but dried works just as well), parsley (ditto), salt, and olive oil.

Chunk up your butter (between 1/2 a stick and a whole stick…I probably go with about 3/4…just to be difficult).

Take a few garlic cloves (I know, I know, I said I always use 4.  I don’t know what I was thinking here).

Take a big ol’ knife (this one is my favorite….I’m actually pretty surprised it doesn’t have a name yet) and turn it on it’s side on top of the garlic cloves and give ’em a good whack.  You could also take a jar or cup or something and pop it on top of the garlic cloves to lightly smash them.

See how the paper is all cracked now?

Comes right off!

Gah!  They’re all naked!  Naughty little garlic cloves!  Children, avert your eyes!!

Now give the little suckers a good chop.  Don’t worry about getting it too fine, we’re going to take care of that.

Now sprinkle a good pinch of salt (kosher for this…please?) on top…

And drip a little bit of olive oil on top of the salt (about 1-2 Tablespoons).  This is going to help the salt and garlic stay together.

Now take that knife again (really have to come up with a name for him), lay it on it’s side over just the edge of the garlic/salt/oil pile and squish it.  Kind of press down and slide your knife out to smoosh up the garlic bits.

And keep smooshing until it’s all…well….smooshed!

Then, if you’re like me (I like it really smooshed), rake it back into a pile, and go over it again until it’s nice and pasty!

Ahhhh….smooshed salty, garlicky goodness!

Now make sure your butter is all nice and soft and spreadable.

Hello again, spatula!

And plop the garlicky goodness right on top.  Mmmm…now it’s salty, garlicky, buttery goodness!  Is there anything better?

Now add a nice big pinch of parsley (maybe 1 1/2 teaspoons?…who knows).

And a nice big pinch of basil (probably more like 1 teaspoon of this stuff)

Throw in another pinch of salt (you don’t have to but Lawd have mercy it’s good!), and give it all a good stir.

Slice your bread in half (do I have to say lengthwise?)

I used slightly thin bread, which I ended up really not being very fond of, so try to use bread thicker (width-wise) than this.  It got way too hard when reheated and my hubby and I, as much as we love this garlic bread, cannot possibly eat the whole darn thing in one night (as much as I’d love to).

Now spread on the goodness, baby!

Don’t be shy…

Don’t leave any in the bowl or the salty/garlicky/buttery police will come and get you.

That’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it!

Now pop the lovely, buttery goodness into the oven at 375 for about 15 minutes until the garlic begins to lightly brown.

 Just like this.

Mine actually took exactly 17 minutes.  You just gotta keep an eye on it.  Trust me on this.  It’s worth it!

You can cut it any way you want it.  I like on the bias.  Or you could just rip chunks off.  Or eat the whole thing.

Trust me.  It’ll be hard not to!

2 Responses to “The Last Garlic Bread Recipe You’ll Ever Need”

  1. omg! You’re right. So very good and easy!!!! I will keep in my treasured recipes…Thanks!

  2. 2 Liz

    Thank you so much! I’m so glad you enjoyed it as much as I do! 🙂


Leave a Reply

