Banana Nut Bread

04Mar12

I got this recipe from my Great Aunt Babbie, who was a master of all things baking and cooking.  You’ll be hearing a lot about her through her recipes, I’m sure, including the word squiggely and it’s definition.  She was a sassy little ol’ lady and we all miss her dearly here, but she lives on in her (nearly) world famous recipes.

This is her recipe for Banana Nut Bread.

I do not like Banana Nut Bread.

I like this.

Here’s what ya’ need.

Sugar, flour, butter (unsalted), baking soda, walnuts, 2 eggs, and 3 extremely ripe bananas.  This is a great recipe to use up any almost too ripe bananas you may have because your son said “Yeah!  Nanas!” and then did not want them.  Oh…  Just me?

Start by cutting up a whole stick of unsalted butter (or you could let it sit out to soften, but I don’t think that far ahead most of the time…I’m a “fly by the seat of my pants” kinda gal.).  I chose to use a fork to cut down on the amount of dirty dishes I ended up with.  Sometimes I can’t take just one more dirty knife.

Cut up the whole delicious stick of butter (you could even use a knife if you wanted to)

Throw it all into a bowl (I used a big one to cut down on dirty dishes I would have to clean) and pop it into the microwave for 10 seconds at a time until the butter is nice and soft, but not melted.  Of course, if you were smart and thought ahead and softened your butter, you can skip the microwave step.

Add 1 cup of sugar.

Throw in 2 cups of flour.

Finely chop up about a cup of walnuts (I didn’t measure, even though my measuring cup was about 3 inches from my hand)

And throw them into the bowl.

Next, crack in 2 eggs

Now you’re going to need to mash up your bananas.

Here’s the fork I used to cut the butter!  (See?  I had a plan all along!)

Mash it up real good.  Don’t be afraid!

That’s one banana all mashed up.  Only 2 more to go!

Now throw your 3 mashed bananas into the mix too!

Add one teaspoon of baking soda

And finally, one teaspoon of salt.  I used kosher.  I think we all know now how I feel about it.  But regular salt should be fine too, if that’s what you have.

Gotta love these blurry pictures.  Sorry ’bout that!

Now, finally, FINALLY!  We get to stir!  I suppose you could have been stirring after adding each ingredient, but there’s really no reason for that.  And I don’t like to risk over mixing.  We want our banana nut bread to be nice and fluffy!

Now grease, butter, or spray-stuff either a regular sized loaf pan, or two smaller ones…or 4 even smaller ones…or…well, you get the point.  Since I know, even though my hubby asked for banana nut bread, he will not be able to eat an entire large-sized loaf even with help from me and our son, I decided to make two slightly smaller loaves and give one to my parents.  I am lovely like that.  Although, after seeing how much my son loves this bread, they may only get half the second loaf!  (If I can wrestle even that away from him!)

I like to put mine on a thick sheet pan.  Just makes it easier to get them in and out of the oven.  Also something about heat distribution or even browning or something.  Don’t listen to me.  I have no idea what I’m talking about.  That was the product of too much late night Food Network.

If you’re using one loaf pan, plop all the yummy smelling batter into the pan.  If you’re using two or more, try to get an even amount in them.

And you did preheat the oven to 350, didn’t you?

Now put the pan/s into the oven and set your timer for an hour if you’re using one large loaf pan and 45 minutes for two smaller ones.  I’m not sure about anything smaller than what I used, but I’d start checking around 30 minutes.

Now go do all those dirty dishes.

Or if you’re like me, you can go watch a rerun of Supernatural.

Don’t be like me.  Go do your dishes and have a clean kitchen so your hubby doesn’t get all cranky with you when he tries to make you coffee in the morning, but can’t because the sink is full of dirty dishes.

If you’re making just one large loaf, it should take about an hour.  I used two and it took 45 minutes exactly.

Just look at those beauties!  Yummy!

Mmmmmm…..I wish you could smell how fantastic my house smells now!

This picture makes it look slightly too browned on the side, but it’s really not.  I’m still using my phone camera because it’s easy and I’m lazy.  I used all my left over energy to do the dishes because I went and made myself feel all guilty about leaving them in the sink.

My purple bread knife, let me show you it.

It’s soft and moist and yummy!  Go make it now!

You know those bananas are just going to go bad if you don’t.  You bought the huge bunch because they were on sale and then you were just really never in the mood for them, ya’ know?  But now you can make this!

And if you’re allergic, or just plain ol’ don’t want to, you can absolutely leave the nuts out.  I do sometimes.  More often than not, actually.  But I just happened to have some handy, so I threw ’em in there.

**I have this recipe up on the Tasty Kitchen website, but I have come to the conclusion over the past hour that I am just too dumb to figure out how to get the recipe form-thingy onto this page so that it can be printed onto a recipe card or full-page or whatever, so here is the link that the recipe that is printable.  Also, if anyone has any clue how to put that on here, please, for the love of butter, PLEASE TELL ME HOW!  This is driving me crazy!**

No Responses Yet to “Banana Nut Bread”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

