The Better Butter

29Feb12

You know what I miss?  Salted butter.

Now, before you offer to point me in the direction of the nearest grocery store and give me a swift kick in the rear, let me say this.  I know they still sell salted butter.  But think about it.  Have you read any recipes lately that call for anything other than unsalted butter?  I haven’t.  If you have, please send it to me!

Salt?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Huh?  Oh…wrong Salt….

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hello Lover…

Butter?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What’s not to love?

Other than the resulting jiggle, because saaaaaalt…..buuuutteeeeerrrrr…..saaaaltyyyyy buuuutteeeerrrr….

But back to my original point.  I haven’t bought regular salted butter in…well…so long I can’t remember!  When I go to the grocery store, I try desperately to stick to my grocery list.  I spend at least an hour making out my grocery list and getting my coupons together before I go so that I know exactly what I need and also so that I can get in and out and ON MY WAY!  Because lawsy mawsy!  People get rude in the grocery store!

But that’s another tangent for another day.

So there I am, trying to stick (get it?) to my grocery list and all my recipes call for unsalted butter, so…can you guess what happens?

Yep.

I only buy unsalted butter.

So then I only *have* unsalted butter.

But you know what?  Salted butter is good!

Especially on toast, or biscuits, or toasted pita chips, or homemade breadsticks (which I messed around with earlier this week and turned out so delicious that I’m definitely planning on posting the recipe with pictures some time soon!), or waffles!  Or!  Or!  Or!  The list goes on for quite a ways.

I love me some butter, y’all!  (oh wow, I think I just channeled Paula Dean!  Y’all!)

There was really no point to this post other than to share a thought I’ve been having over the past few days.  What has happened to all the regular salted butter?  In recipes, that is.  I mean, I get it.  Use unsalted butter to better control the final salt content in a dish.  I get it.  But really, how much salt could there be in a tablespoon or two of butter?  Enough to ruin an entire dish?  I highly doubt it.

If you don’t want to risk it, I understand.

I’m one of those people who obsessively follow recipes, so it’s going to be hard to swap out butters, but darned if I’m not gonna try!  Maybe.  I’m still working on that whole “follow the recipe exactly” thing.

(I also cannot drive across the lines in a parking lot all willy nilly.  And most of the time, I will follow the sidewalk even if cutting across the grass is quicker.  I cannot help myself.)

So what about you?  Are you a rule breaker?  Maybe you can be my new role model!

No Responses Yet to “The Better Butter”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

