Lasagna….Mostly

10Feb12

Well, I forgot…again.

Almost!

I forgot to take pictures of the making of “The Lasagna” until it came out of the oven.

So at least we didn’t inhale it as quickly as before!  (silver lining and all)

So I figured I’d just post a few pictures that I took (with my super, duper, craptastic camera on my phone….even though I DID find my spare battery and charger for my awesome camera…but I am still being lazy and don’t want to dig through our “box ‘o cords” and find the right one to plug the camera into the computer….so you’ll just have to believe me and go with me when I say it’s a lot more ooey and gooey and cheesy than it looks in the not-so-fabulous pictures.) along with the recipe and y’all can see for yourselves how great it is!

Fresh out of the oven!

A close-up of the cheeeeeeeese…

nom nom nom…

LASAGNE – what you’ll need:

9 no-boil lasagna noodles

1 28oz can crushed tomatoes (not the kind with the chunks)

1 14 oz can tomato sauce

1 t – 1 T Italian seasoning

1 t dried basil

1 t dried thyme

2 cups + 1 cup Mozzarella cheese

2 cups Italian cheese blend

2 eggs

1 1/2 lbs ground beef

1 cup diced bell pepper (or more if you want!)

1 onion, diced (to same size as bell pepper)

salt and pepper to taste

What to do!

Start by browning up the ground beef in a skillet.  Once brown, drain and return to the skillet.  Add the diced bell pepper (any color) and onion and cook, stirring often for about 5-7 minutes, or until the onions look right to you.  Set aside.

Combine crushed tomatoes and tomato sauce in a sauce pan.  Add Italian seasoning (whatever amount seems right to you between about 1 t and 1 T), basil, thyme, and a pinch of salt and stir to combine.  Heat over medium heat.

In yet another bowl!  (I never said you weren’t gonna have to do a lot of dishes!!) Combine 2 cups Mozzarella, 1 1/2 cups Italian cheese mixture,  2 eggs, and salt & pepper to taste.  Stir to combine.

In a 9 x 13 pan, add about 1 ladle of the tomato sauce mixture and run it around the bottom of the dish just to cover everything.  Add 3 no-boil lasagna noodles.  On top of this layer 1/3 beef mixture, 1/3 cheese mixture, and 1/3 of the sauce.

Repeat.

Repeat again!

Top off with remaining Mozzarella and Italian cheeses.

Cover tightly with foil and bake at 350 for 45 minutes.  Remove foil and bake for an additional 10 minutes.

Take out of oven and let rest about 10 minutes.

Dig in!!! (maybe with a nice salad? Yum!)

yuuuuuummm…

I apologize for no printable version of the recipe.  I am too dumb to figure out how to do that.  And I have leftover lasagna in the oven for lunch and am eager to get to it!!! 😉

No Responses Yet to “Lasagna….Mostly”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

