Beef, Meat, & Rice

23Jan12

I know.  Trust me.  I know what you’re thinking.  Beef, MEAT, and Rice?  Yes.  That is what I said.

You can blame my husband for that name.  This is his recipe, after all!  I’ve just sort of…tinkered with it a little.

I used to poke fun at him for calling it “Beef, Meat, and Rice”, so he eventually started saying that no…no….I meant beef-meat and rice….like “what kind of meat?” it’s “Beef-meat”.

 Uh huh.

Yeah.

Sure.

Whatever you say, Babe.

So now, I call it “Beef, Meat, & Rice” affectionately.   And you can too!

Here’s how to make it!!

What you’ll need:

an onion, chopped pretty big (I took a picture)

2 cans of green beans (no sense in using fresh)

beef stock or one of these nifty new concentrated thingies! (broth is too salty)

BEEF! (and meat!  haha) I use about 2lbs of the already cut up stuff (it was on sale, I’ve actually bought a roast before and cut it up myself…I’ll buy whatever is cheaper!  This time it just so happened to also be what’s easiest!)

3 1/2 cups of water

a package of beef stew seasoning

rice (to be cooked separately, but is crucial! No noodles!!)

Here’s the picture of the beef stew seasoning mix that I forgot to put in the first picture.

Here’s one of those new Knorr concentrated stock gel things.

Bring the 3 1/2 cups of water to a boil in a pressure cooker and just drop the little sucker on in there.  Easy as that.

And Voila!  You have stock!

Add in the beef stew seasoning packet and stir it all up.

If you’re using pre-cut-up meat (BEEF MEAT!) make sure it’s around this size.  (also, if you’re cutting up a roast!)  Too small and it will just fall all apart.  Too big and it won’t get “fally aparty” enough.

And just chuck ‘er all in there!

Keep the heat on high.

Put the lid on and wait to hear a “chug-chug-chug” sound.

This might take up to 5 minutes.

Once it starts to chug pretty good, cut the heat back to right between medium and medium-high.  On my stove, I put it on “6”.  You should keep hearing the fast “chug-chug-chug”.  If it’s not a pretty persistent “chug”, it’s too low.  You just need to fiddle with it and find out what works for your stove.

Let it chug away for 25 minutes.

While the beef (and meat! haha) are chugging along, chop up your onion pretty large.  I cut my onion in half, then halved those halves and then cut each one of those into thirds.  Complicated enough? 😛  Anyway, once you add the onion, it tends to just disappear if you cut it up too small and I love me some onion!  I wanna see it!  If you don’t love onion quite as much as me, feel free to cut it up smaller or even just add a half!  I think you’d be messin’ with perfection, but that’s just me.  Do whatever you’d like with your Beef, Meat, & Rice!!

Now that’s pretty much all you’ve got to do until the first 25 minutes are up.  Go see what the Innernets are up to!

*beep beep beep*

Okay.  Here’s where things can get tricky.  Don’t be ashamed if you’re afraid of pressure cookers.  I am terrified of them.  This is actually the only thing I’ll cook in one.  (It’s THAT good!!)  Take the pot OFF THE HEAT!!  And let it sit there a few minutes, until it stops “chugging”.   Then…carefully….take some tongs and gently and slowly lift the uh…knob-thing…up to release the steam/pressure sloooooowlyyyyyy.  Did I say slowly?  SSSLLLLOOOOOWWWWLLLLYYYYY!!!  It will hiss at you.  Don’t be (too) afraid.  It might leak out a little liquid as well.  It’s okay.  If you get a little spooked, just let go of the …er…knobby-thing…. (maybe I should figure out what that thing’s called).  Soon enough, no more steam will be coming out and all will be well.  Unscrew said “knobby thing” and set it aside, you will need it again.  Take off the lid.

Here’s what we’ve got so far!

Pure Deliciousness.

Mmmm….beef….

Add the green beans and onions.  Yup…right on top.  No need to even stir!  You can if you’d like, but there’s no need and I’ve done it both ways with the same results every time.  The one thing I like about NOT stirring, is my onions stay together slightly better.

Here’s something I didn’t mention at the beginning.  Wine.  You absolutely, positively DO NOT have to add this.  But it works.  I actually did not start adding it until very recently, but it is very good.  I use just about 1/4 -1/2 cup of Merlot.  Nothing fancy, as that would negate the general feel of the dish.  It’s just an extra *pop* of flavor.

Now put the lid and knobby-thingamajigger back on and put this back over high heat.

Now that we’ve got the beef (and the meat) back on high heat….

Time for the rice!

Here is my super idiot-proof (has to be because I myself, happen to be in need of idiot-proof!) rice recipe:

1 cup rice, 2 cups water, a healthy pinch of salt, about a tablespoon of olive oil.  That’s it.

Heat up the water to boiling in a medium saucepan.

Add the salt and olive oil and then the rice.

Turn the heat down to just above “low”.  I put mine on about 2 (maybe a little less).

Cover, and set your timer for 23 minutes.

This is the product of MUCH trial and error (hence the odd time).  Works perfectly for me and I could NEVER make rice before.  Not even in a rice maker.  Because I am dumb.

See?  23 minutes.

Since we put our beef mixture on high heat, it should start to chug again in a few minutes (hopefully before the timer for the rice hits the 20 minute mark….tonight, mine did it at 21 minutes!  Yay!  It was an over achiever!)  If it doesn’t start to chug by the 20 minute mark, let it go a few more minutes after the rice is done to let it cook for about 20 minutes.

Ding!  Rice is done!  Yay!  Perfect every time.  I’m tellin’ ya’!

Time to take the beef mixture off the heat!

Take off the knob-thing again the same way, after it’s sat a few minutes to stop chugging, ect… Remember to let the steam out slowly!!!

Then…..take off the lid….

Take….off the lid……

Take…..

Dammit…..

Y’all….my lid is stuck.

Right now…..

As I’m taking pictures of all this stuff for you….

So…naturally…..

Here is my sweet hubby trying to get the lid off for me all manly-like, while I stand in the corner with oven mitts on my hands wondering just what in the crap I’m gonna do about dinner now that I’ve spent an hour making this and also, our food is stuck in the pot.  Do we…..do we just chuck the whole thing out?  What would happen if I just took it out into the backyard and hurled it down onto the ground?

So when he went to get a screwdriver (for what, I don’t know….there were no screws….) I took a look and noticed a pin in one of the handles was sticking up higher than the one in the other handle and so I picked up a mechanical pencil that just happened to be sitting on the counter (no clue!) and stuck it down into the hole and LO AND BEHOLD…..

VICTORY IS MINE!!!

Whew!

So, put some rice into a bowl.

And ladle all of that beautiful delicious beefy (and meaty) goodness onto the rice!  And don’t forget to add a little extra juice from the bottom of the pot!!!

DE-LICIOUS!

No Responses Yet to “Beef, Meat, & Rice”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

