Pizza Night

18Jan12

Usually, “Pizza Night” means looking for coupons from the weekly Shopper, or playing Rock, Paper, Scissors to decide whether you order from This Chain* or That Chain*.  Well, if you’re like me and you love to cook, bake, mix, chop… you get the point… why not make it yourself?!  Yes, there’s about an hour’s wait time while the dough rises, but it’s sooo worth it when the crust tastes less like flour and more like deliciousness!!  AND!  You get to surf the Net and read blogs while you wait for the dough to rise and you can still consider yourself  “cooking”!

I decided to take some pictures and do a blog post about making my pizza!  Unfortunately, I had to settle with taking the pics with my phone’s stupid camera because we just moved (okay…it was a month ago…) and I STILL cannot find my camera’s extra battery and charger AND the battery that’s in the camera now is dead.  I’ve been looking for it for a few days now (not counting the first time I realized it was missing about a month ago and looked for it) and it’s starting to drive me crazy!  I know I’m going to find it in the most obvious place and then I’ll remember putting it there, but until then, I’m getting more and more perturbed!!

So anyway!  On to the pizza!

For the Dough:

  • 3/4 cup warm (not hot!) water
  • 1 teaspoon of sugar
  • 1 packet of active dry yeast
  • 2 1/4 cups of AP flour (I use unbleached)
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 3 Tablespoons Olive Oil (no need to break out the extra virgin here)

1.)  Combine the water, sugar, and yeast in a bowl (I use the bowl of my KitchenAid mixer because I love it and I’m lazy).  Let it sit for about 5 minutes and make sure the yeast makes lots of bubbles.  If you don’t see any bubbles after 5 minutes or so, the yeast is probably dead.  RIP yeast.

I forgot to take pictures when I started, so the measuring cup is empty and the yeast packet is open.  I even considered putting more water in the measuring cup, but as I mentioned before, I’m lazy.  Just imagine there is 3/4 cup of water in there.  🙂

And here’s everything gettin’ all foamy!

After everything is nice and foamy and you’re sure you are in possession of yeast that is alive, add the flour and then the salt on top of the flour.  Yeast is not very fond of salt.

Hello Doughboy!

Use a dough hook attachment if you have one.  Makes everything easy breezy!!! 🙂

After that’s mixed just for a few seconds, add the olive oil…

Action shot!!!

When the dough forms a ball and starts to pull away from the walls of the mixer, drizzle some olive oil into a bowl and swipe it around to make sure it’s all spread around.

Please ignore the bear of animal crackers…he’s just watching…

Always reminds me of a huge blob of gum… Don’t ask why…

Plop your blob of dough into your olive-oiled-up bowl (I don’t bother kneading).

Now set your timer for 1 hour and go check out what’s on tv!  Big Bang Theory?  I think yes!

Hahaha….Oh that Sheldon…

Oh hi!  It’s been an hour already?  See?  I told you it goes by quick!

So here’s our puffed up little dough ball!

And now we just roll it out to however big we want it.  I have a pizza pan thing, so I try to roll it out to around that size.

Oh!  Also, turn your oven on to 400 degrees!

Not a bad job, if I do say so myself!!

Now, don’t go loading it up with stuff just yet!  Poke some holes in it with a fork and pop it in the oven for about 8 minutes.  This keeps the dough from staying soggy underneath all the sauce and toppings!  🙂

I like to heat my sauce up a bit before putting it on the dough…

Now spread some sauce….I actually have made my own sauce on occasion, but not tonight.  Tonight I have a hyper 2 year old and a tired 40 year old!  haha 😉

Now load ‘er up with toppings!!! (I added pepperoni too, but gosh I’m tired of uploading pictures!!! haha!)

So pretty!!  (I actually added a little more cheese on top to hold all the veggies on and…well…because it’s CHEESE!!)

Pop it in the oven for 15 minutes (if your oven runs hot, a few minutes less, if it runs cool, a few minutes more.  15 minutes is just a starting point).

TA DAAA!!!

GET IN MAH BELLEH!!!

2.8 seconds later…

And if you don’t want to take my word for it….

Take it from the pickiest eater ever, who currently has his mouth stuffed full of pizza (which he will not eat from “This or That Pizza Chain Store”*)

(and don’t say it…he’s going for a hair cut tomorrow…)

I’m thinking of making Wednesday “Pizza Night”!  Do any of y’all eat certain things for dinner on certain days?  We never did that in our house when I was growing up, but my hubby is all for it so I’ve been trying to come up with some stuff.

*names have been obviously changed to protect the not-so-innocent chain stores! 😉

No Responses Yet to “Pizza Night”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

